November 17, 2010 Special Council Minutes

City of Heyburn Special Council Meeting Minutes

November 17, 2010

6:00 P.M.


Council Present:

Cleo Gallegos, Rocky Baker, Leann Smith, and Joanne Justesen.


Employees Present:

Steven Tuft, Scott Spevak, and Deborah Hopkins. 


Visitors Present: 

Earl Andrew, Ralph Martini, Eric Christensen, Mike Devers, Eric Johnson, Mike Brown, and Jeremiah Justesen. 


Meeting conducted by Mayor George A. Anderson.  Mayor Anderson welcomed everyone to the meeting and led those in attendance in the Pledge of Allegiance.


Mayor Anderson amended the agenda to include:  Purchase of Transformers for Gem State Processing.


Discussion on Urban Renewal

Two proposals have been received for the Urban Renewal Agency Advisor and were distributed to the Mayor and council.  The deadline for submission of proposals is December 3, 2010.  These proposals will be reviewed at the December 8, 2010 council meeting.


Purchase of Transformers for Gem State Processing

Mayor Anderson stated that the City of Heyburn can purchase the transformers and then bill the City of Burley for them.  Motion by Leann Smith the purchase the transformers and subsequently bill the City of Burley.  Second by Rocky Baker.  Vote:  Cleo Gallegos - Aye; Rocky Baker - Aye; Leann Smith - Aye; and Joanne Justesen - Aye.


Work Session for the purpose of reviewing/revising the Employee Handbook

Mayor Anderson, council members, and staff present reviewed the drafts of the City of Heyburn Employee Handbook.  It was decided to work through the 2009 draft of the Employee Handbook using the ICRMP User Guide for Sample City At-Will Personnel Policy for reference.  Comments and suggestions were taken throughout the work session.  The next work session for the City of Heyburn Employee Handbook was scheduled for December 8, 2010 beginning at 6:00 PM in a Special City Council Meeting followed by the regular council meeting beginning at 7:00 PM.


The council meeting ended at 8:55 PM. 





George A. Anderson






Deborah F. Hopkins

City Clerk